minoroots

And our president-elect is…

Posted in Opinion by minoroots on 11/05/2008
A slam-dunk for president. (via yardbarker.com)

Boom. (credit: yardbarker.com)

BARACK!

A great snippet from Barack Obama’s victory speech last night:

“America, we have come so far. We have seen so much. But there is so much more to do. So tonight, let us ask ourselves — if our children should live to see the next century; if my daughters should be so lucky to live as long as Ann Nixon Cooper, what change will they see? What progress will we have made?

This is our chance to answer that call. This is our moment.

advertisement

This is our time, to put our people back to work and open doors of opportunity for our kids; to restore prosperity and promote the cause of peace; to reclaim the American dream and reaffirm that fundamental truth, that, out of many, we are one; that while we breathe, we hope. And where we are met with cynicism and doubts and those who tell us that we can’t, we will respond with that timeless creed that sums up the spirit of a people: Yes, we can.”

I was inspired. Can you remember a time when the president of the United States has commanded so much attention, so much respect from so many people? I sure can’t–at least not in my short lifetime. JFK’s “Ask not–” is a timeless classic, but I wasn’t around for that. People say Regan was, and that Clinton was a great orator, but I don’t remember or was too young to appreciate any of it. In the last eight years, the president has seemingly been a symbol for incompetence, ignorance, and comedic relief, and never a symbol that I felt proud to say was representing our country.

In our new president-elect, I see a role-model. We often take in popular figures in sports or entertainment as our role models, but for the first time, I see myself turning to a politician(!) that I wouldn’t mind the American youth looking up to as a role-model. It’s a weird feeling, but I think it’s a good thing.

I also thought John McCain’s concession speech was real classy. He could not have been more gracious in congratulating Obama and offering his support for the greater good.

“I urge all Americans who supported me to join me in not just congratulating him, but offering our next president our good will and earnest effort to find ways to come together to find the necessary compromises to bridge our differences and help restore our prosperity, defend our security in a dangerous world, and leave our children and grandchildren a stronger, better country than we inherited.

Whatever our differences, we are fellow Americans. And please believe me when I say no association has ever meant more to me than that.”

I also thought it was kind of classy for him to take the blame at the end of his campaign:

“It is natural. It’s natural, tonight, to feel some disappointment. But tomorrow, we must move beyond it and work together to get our country moving again.

We fought — we fought as hard as we could. And though we fell short, the failure is mine, not yours.”

Seems like a completely different man speaking, compared to the ones we saw in the presidential debates the last few weeks of his campaign. Who knows–if this McCain had shown up throughout the campaign, he might have won the race.

Too bad there are still others out there who are so closed-minded (Prop 8) and downright retarded:

“It scares me that people could elect Barack Obama,” said Jessica Ornstein. “Have they ever read a history book and looked up communism. He is an angry black man and Michelle Obama is a reverse racist. He is not my president.”

HAH. “Reverse racist”? Are you freaking kidding me? Jessica, there are races other than black & white, you know? And if Michelle were racist, would she ever marry a man with white grandparents? Ignorance… damn.

Leave a Reply

